Litteral litter mates?

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TeaTimeBunnies

Reaction score
I'm still new at breeding rabbits, and I have had my first litter. The litter is a tiny two kit litter with one male and one female. My kits turn​ exactly 8 weeks old tomorrow. We are going to keep the male and sell the female to a family that wants her as a pet. Now a bit of (hopefully helpful) information before I get to my issue. I raise English Spots, which is a medium sized breed. Now to my issue, I planned on separating my kits tomorrow when we finish the male's hutch (just gotta add walls and a door). We were working on his hutch today when I caught him trying to mount his sister. I separated them immediately and he it temporarily in a medium sized dog carrier. I don't know how many times exactly he has tried to breed her, or if she even let him. Since there still so young should I be worried about her having woopsy babies, and her buyers ending up with more than they bargained for?

-- Sun Jun 11, 2017 3:44 pm --

I'm sorry I realize that my other post ACTUALLY went through when I thought​ they hadn't. Any admins please don't be mad. This was very unintentional

No, I'm not mad, TTB, but in future please try to avoid this. If you stay where you are after submitting, it will show your entry as it is posted.
I can't do anything about the triple threads in the scrolling sidebar, but this will be the one people answer.

Now to your question . . . Are English Spots a fast-maturing breed? I've only had meat mutts, and I understand some breeds mature more quickly.

At eight weeks, I doubt the doe will conceive, but you should tell the prospective buyer what happened and make sure they are okay with the remote possibility of kits.