Kits slowly dying! HELP!

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CynthiaG

Reaction score
Hello, I'm new to this whole rabbit breeding thing I had barely bought my rabbit a week ago and lo and behold big mama give me a litter of 9 kits three days ago. so as you can see it was quite a surprise for we weren't expecting any kits till the end of summer when I was gonna start breeding and insured I had everything I needed. Well with this surprise I had to compromise. I made a nest box out of a plastic crate that we cut in half so it wouldn't be too tall and we put big momma and her babies in a dog kennel so she didn't have to share the cage with the other female. Everything seemed to be going fine till yesterday evening when I found two dead kits. And again this morning I found three dead and one that looked really weak, I don't think it'll make it. I live in San Antonio,Texas and we've been having about 100* weather. I have a box fan on all my rabbits and they are under trees in my back yard who's branches practically touch the ground so it's like they're in a little tree cave. Are they dying doe to the heat or is momma accidentally squishing them? Or one thing I also noticed is that they were skinny like they haven't fed. What can I do?! Thanks for the help in advance!!

Wow,that's REALLY hot.

A fan will help not much, because the cooling effect that it brings for us is due to the sweat evaporating - rabbits can't sweat.

Put a cold water bottle into the nestbox, on one side, so the kits can wiggle to and fro to find a comfortable temperature zone. If you use a frozen water bottle put it in a sock or wrap it in a towel.