kit color help ( pic )

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bunny love

Reaction score
Can anyone tell me the color of this French lop kit? It's agouti. It was born light grey with pink belly, inside ears and eye circles. Mom is chestnut agouti and dad is a self blue. Other kits in the litter are opal, chestnut, and I think chin ( I'll have to post a pic of all of them. This one has me puzzled as it's a totally different color than the rest. Any guesses?20180715_170102.jpg <br /><br /> __________ Wed Jul 25, 2018 12:13 am __________ <br /><br /> Sorry about the bad picture. I'm still learning how to resize pictures without loosing part of the picture in the process.... :lol:

Good job figuring out how to post pictures, I know it isn't always the easiest!

As far as the color goes... I wonder what else might be in mom and dad's backgrounds? Do you know what else they might carry (recessives) by chance? What is the likelihood of getting Lynx from your breeding pair (I'm not sure if that's what this is, having never seen it in person, but that's the first color that came to mind)?

Best of luck, I hope one of our color experts chimes in!
:D

Personally, I would guess cream. A smutty cream like that you might call a phenotypic lynx (they all show as a solids anyway; on the pedigree I'd put cream. From what Ive seen chocolate isnt super common in french lops so I wouldn't expect a true lynx) Especially if it was born looking significantly lighter than the opal. If it was born about the same shade as the opal I'd guess probably an opal that was just lighter in color.