How many kits in one cage

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Links56

Reaction score
I was wondering how others go about caging the kits after they are weaned. How many can you keep together and how long can you keep them together? Thanks.

It depends on so many things: size of cage, age/size/breed of kits, age you plan to send them to freezer camp etc.

How about giving us a bit more information about what you have and then we can help you out.

I wasn't sure about the age either, I'm still pretty new to this. I'm not sure if around 10 weeks is good? Any suggestions on that would be greatly appreciated too. The cages are 2ftx2ft, mostly Nzw and Cali.

My grow out cages for my NZ kits are 6'x 30". Personally, as my does give me litters of 8-13 kits, I would not go smaller than 4 feet long.

My kits are kept together by litter until they are sold or processed, usually by 10-12 weeks.

Since my does have been giving me big litters, and the harlis grow kinda slowly.... My current method is to wean out just the buckings (somewhere in the 6-9 week range) from any litter into a 2x4 foot cage, and leave the doe with her daughters in her own 2x4 foot cage.

So how many do you put into the 6'x30" cage? Just one litter? How many feeders do you have?

If I took the bucks out and left the does in with the mother doe, could she still have another litter with the previous litter still with her?

Do you aim for weight or age? What weight do you usually see?

Links56":2wiib71c said:
So how many do you put into the 6'x30" cage? Just one litter? How many feeders do you have?

If I took the bucks out and left the does in with the mother doe, could she still have another litter with the previous litter still with her?

Do you aim for weight or age? What weight do you usually see?

I only have one feeder per cage, that I keep full and check twice daily.