Home-made rabbit treats

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I just found alfalfa meal, soybean meal, various forms of barley and oats, and beet pulp at a newly opened feed store. I've been debating how I could turn those in to healthy rabbit treats. For now we are using a wheat flour and flaxseed based horse treat for the rabbits. I can get wheat flour in bulk for like $.50/lb at the co-op and I have flaxseed so I should be able to make something similar. I'm just a horrible cook and haven't taken the time yet to research some recipes I could play with.

Brody and Maggie turned me onto simple dried chunks (1" squares) of whole grained breads. The rabbits love them.

If you want to make them something special, you could try what I do. Oats, wheat, sunflower..whatever you have that's a grain they can eat, ground up (either a grain mill on coarse, or in a food processor). I then chop up carrots in the food processor (or apples) until it's juicy and fine. Mold the whole thing into a muffin tin (they don't really stick 'cuz they're so coarse, but you could line with a paper thing...) OR press in your hand and set on parchment paper.

Pop in a preheated oven, 350Fish, until golden brown. If you find it won't hold it's shape, add wheat flour to your next batch to give it some gluten (that's the "sticky" in bread)

I baked my rabbits a carrot cake :)

But then I ate it myself. :oops:

I mean..... I mean.....they probably aren't supposed to get cream cheese, right?

Walks off into the sunset singing "Alice's Restaurant"

avdpas77":2nc0kqbz said:
I baked my rabbits a carrot cake :)

But then I ate it myself. :oops:

I mean..... I mean.....they probably aren't supposed to get cream cheese, right?

Walks off into the sunset singing "Alice's Restaurant"