Having Trouble Breeding

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

EnglishSpotRabbit

Reaction score
Hi all,

I’m fairly new to the world of rabbit breeding, but I’ve read lots about it and know what I am getting into.

I have two english spots, a buck and a doe. Buck is almost 2 years old, doe is almost 1 year old. Both are very nice natured although the doe can be a little nervous.

My problem is I’ve been trying to breed the two since she was 8 months but with no success. He appears to be very enthusiastic but she is incredibly scared and runs away whenever he is there . I noticed that he seems to be pulling at her fur and I am not sure whether this is normal behaviour or if he’s being aggressive. I tried again today and this time my doe starting biting at him so it’s clear they’re not getting along well at the moment.

I have tried:
-Apple Cider Vinegar (read that it’s supposed to help them get in the mood)
-Black Sunflower Seeds (as above)
-Extra lighting (they have light/daylight from 6am - 8pm)
-Waiting until she is older (she’s 11 months old now, surely that’s old enough?)
-Different setting (his territory, her territory, neutral territory)

They live in a big barn and have a metal grid dividing them so are able to see each other all the time.

I’ve looked all over google and cannot find any answers to my problem. I’m hoping to find some here.

Thank you.

As weird as it seems, some does just do not like some bucks. That might be your problem.

But, you could try forced breeding if you haven't already. Basically, you restrain the doe from the front (I like to put a hand over her eyes to calm her down) and then let the buck mount her. I don't have much experience doing this - I've only had to resort to it once or twice - but someone else might be able to chime in with more information. :)