ground rabbit meat?

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

schmitty

Reaction score
hi. does anyone grind and freeze their rabbit meat? if so how well does the meat hold up when frozen. seems to me it would be about like ground turkey but without all the crap in processed turkey. i have been butchering deer for my private use for 30+ years and love to make sausages usually mixed with pork and would like to try some with rabbit. i don't want to waste any of the delicious meat experimenting. any thoughts appriciated. thanks schmitty

We do it ..it very enjoyable. Deboneing is easy once you get the hang of it.Sausages are just as easy as with the venison. Try a 80% Rabbit 20% regular ground beef mix for burgers and meat balls too! Watch this video on how to debone your rabbit..This is the best way IMO as you use all the rabbit not just the meaty sections.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J6ud68Qmdyc

thanks. i think i will try a few lbs. just didn't want to get the grinder dirty. didn't have any buns ready when it was deer season. i can't see grinding up the hind qtrs or loins but i think maybe the rest would be okay. the video was great. how many meals do you think he has processed?<br /><br />__________ Thu Feb 02, 2012 10:25 am __________<br /><br />thanks for the input......

When we did it his way it took allot longer but as I said earlier you use all the rabbit his way. We were getting a little over 3 pounds of meat doing it that way. so if you did 10 rabbits that 30 pounds throw in another 5 or 6 pounds of pork or beef and you have 35 pounds of sausage or burgers. Oh and it does freeze nice. We love it that way here. Our favourite is rabbit sausage spaghetti! MMMMM suddenly I'm hungry..

Edit for spelling

schmitty":3vhmrth1 said: