fur mites??

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dandee

Reaction score
I just bought a Flemish Giant pedigree from a local reputable breeder.

he is missing all of his fur on the back of his neck, base of his ears, and coming around down to his throat area. and it's a bit flaky and a couple scratches from him scratching it.

the breeder thought it was just from him rubbing on his water bottle and assured me it wasn't fur mites.

I paid $100 for this rabbit and i'm kinda pissed, because all the pics online look like this *may* be it. I'm freaking out like I'm going to get them and my baby, too!

What do you do as a buyer of this rabbit? she knew i was a novice and we talked for a long time and found her very nice and helpful. I really don't think it's an intentional fleecing, ya know.
I just want to stay on good terms with her and I don't want to deal with this problem from the get go! especially, if it infects my other rabbits.
maybe, i need to just realize this is part of being a rabbit caretaker. but, I'm still a little sore about it.
do i have any recourse? I am broke and this was a huge purchase for me.

Dandee,
I would take that rabbit back to the "Breeder"
and demand my money back! The rabbit did not develop the problem overnite.
I am certain if that breeder is worth a Plug nickle He/She knew the rabbit had a problem.
I believe there are many that will pass a problem to the unsuspecting Novice
in an effort to make a $$$Buck$$$. They should have treated that rabbit themselves and
if it did not get better, sell it to the processor. No one should use sickly rabbits
in any breeding program. They most certainly should never be sold for anything but a "Blue Plate Special!
As always, JMPO. Find a reputable breeder to deal with!
Dennis, C.V.R. [That really Busts my Buffers!]