Creating pedigree

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi all..I’ve been breeding for three years...but, that was a whole different type of breeding....we started out 5hinking we were going to eat them...failed at that...we are farmers, but we got attached. So we sold them...but, now I’ve become mesmerized by colors, genes, creating quality, etc.......that I’m selling all my unpedigee rabbits, stepped up my game, created a Rabbitry, etc. so...most of my rabbits have a pedigree..but some don’t. I understand to create one, I just need to keep track of dates, etc, go back three generations. Then, I need to mail them in to the ARBA? I have a ton of rabbits that I bought from a breeder...he knew their generations wayyy back, but never bothered sending in the papers. He sent them in just now for me. Said they are back and he’s filling them out. I have a new litter from the mom...so, do I just print out a pedigree sheet from the net, and fill it out with the other info? All my pedigrees, are hand written. By the way, my litter I’m discussing...adorable harlequin lionheads. I’m keeping the one with the best split face...it’s a buck too!! I’m so happy...I can create magpies!!

Ok, thanks for any help with this!!

Rabbit pedigrees aren't registered with ARBA like dogs are with the AKC. To get a pedigreed rabbit, you just write out a pedigree. Now, if you want to get your rabbit registered - that's different. A registered rabbit has been inspected by a rabbit judge and judged to be a good example of their breed. You'll need a copy of their pedigree to show to the judge, but AFAIK, nothing is sent to ARBA until a judge has looked at the rabbit.