Cage question

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fall mom

Reaction score
I am new to meat rabbits. I use to have english angora which are a whole list of different care needs. These meat rabbits don't seem to need much compared to the angora. I am seeing a lot of wire cages and nest boxes is there a reason this seems to be preferred housing? I am just raising small scale for my family and extended family. When I drew a picture of what I wanted built I did a little box they could always have. The box is divided so she has room in the event she becomes cold or spooked that is separated from her nest area. The divider is high enough it should knock the kits off if she leaves with an attached one. She had a litter of 12 last night. It's my first meat rabbit litter. The whole bottom is wire I have it stuffed with hay. Will I run into issues with this type of housing? Should I be using all wire cages with a nest box? I am trying to upload photos but I can't seem to get them to attach... got em. Also do these kits look greenish? I keep thinking their color seems odd.2016-04-13 15.54.21.jpg2016-04-13 15.53.59.jpg2016-04-13 15.53.19.jpg2016-04-13 15.52.50.jpg

There are lots of ways to do things and not just one is right. I'm no good at telling anyone how to make anything electronic work but hope someone can help you figure out how to post photos. Without being able to clearly picture your set-up, I have a few questions.
Is it easy for you to access the nest area to check on kits? We've gotten into the habit of pulling the nest box and checking on kits daily for the first week. Then just check to clean--remove soiled or wet hay and put in fresh.
Is the nest area closed off when the doe doesn't have (and isn't soon expecting) kits?
How much room does the doe have not counting the nest?