Breeding VM choc otter with magpie?

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Zambianmeat

Reaction score
What colours might l I get if I breed my VM choc otter buck with a sable magpie or blue magpie? I'm new to genetics and it's hard for me to get down... I'm a little slow :(
Thank you in advance!!

Unless your chocolate otter buck or one of the does carries some common recessives, you could just end up with chestnut agouti (castor) with a possibility of vienna marked kits. I know this sounds crazy considering the rarer colors you have, but chocolate otter is a(t)_bbC_D_E_ while sable magpie is A_B_c(chl)_D_e(j)_ and blue magpie is A_bbc(chd)_dde(j)_. Unless one of the does carries self 'a' or chocolate 'b' or the buck carries dilute, chin, or wideband, then the dominant genes of A_B_C_D_E_ will be the only ones to show.

Sorry if confusing, I had to type this out really quick. :)

Mini Lop Fan":1veabv7v said:
Unless your chocolate otter buck or one of the does carries some common recessives, you could just end up with chestnut agouti (castor) with a possibility of vienna marked kits. I know this sounds crazy considering the rarer colors you have, but chocolate otter is a(t)_bbC_D_E_ while sable magpie is A_B_c(chl)_D_e(j)_ and blue magpie is A_bbc(chd)_dde(j)_. Unless one of the does carries self 'a' or chocolate 'b' or the buck carries dilute, chin, or wideband, then the dominant genes of A_B_C_D_E_ will be the only ones to show.

Sorry if confusing, I had to type this out really quick. :)

Thank you so much for helping me!!! Very useful. :) Also, I just posted another question LOL... I’m trying to produce VM choc chinchillas. Do you think I’d get any if I breed my VM chinch to a choc Sallander (possible VC, her dad is a VM) ???

Mini Lop Fan":2phkjxgz said: