Brand new to breeding, questions about females!

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tbunker

Reaction score
Hey all. So I’ve just finally had my first successful fall off between my buck and one of my does!!!! I’m so excited!!!! I have a few question though because I’ve never done this before lol

So my current housing situation is.... I have two does and both have a nice house out side together with a large fenced in area. At this current time only one of my does has had a successful fall off with my buck. So I’m not sure if I should separate the Does when it comes close to baby time or let them continue living in the same house and outdoor space??

If I do add a second house for the mothering doe, do I have to separate their outdoor space as well??

ALSO would it be nuts to have two does pregnant at the same time?? I’ve had them both since they were 8 weeks old, and neither have carried a litter as of yet. I mean I guess there is no sure fire way to know Lucy is pregnant as of yet (literally just happened today). Or should I wait a month or so to try my other doe?

thanks all for your answers!! I’m so excited to be joining in on this baby bunny making!!!

make sure there is plenty of space for "nesting" or a nestbox in the house, so the pregnant doe doesn't feel cramped and get "territorial" ... keep a watch on them to be sure no aggressive behavior is beginning.. look for tufts of hair laying around as a beginning sign of aggressiveness. - have a backup plan that can be immediately implemented, in the case of aggressiveness. Some does live together quite peacefully through pregnancy, and litter raising...